• maps.service-public.ma
  • Viste guidée

Head of Government web site

www.mmsp.gov.ma

I'am getting married

Congratulations. In the name of the administration, we wish you a very happy marriage. You must provide some documents and meet some requirements for your marriage to be legal and sustainable. You will find hereinafter available all the information that is necessary to contract marriage.

Marriage is solemnized, provided the following requirements are fulfilled:

  • No consent upon the abolition of the dowry(Sadaq);
  • Consent of spouses;
  • Presence of a proxy (Wali) where necessary;
  • Freedom from legal impediments.

Likewise, the two fiancés must:

  • Be 18 years old;
  • Have the authorization of marriage for the party who is not of  legal age for marriage;(Delete redundant parts)
  • Be of Moroccan nationality (at least one of the two even if one is a national of another country.
     

Having acquired the necessary documents, the fiancés move to an Adul office (Muslim Notary) accredited by the Family Justice Division. On the basis the documents provided by the fiancés, the Adul fills in the official form for the marriage authorization application, which he transfers to the Family Judge for ratification.

Following such procedure, the Adul (Muslim Notary) is authorized to solemnize marriage.

Having been signed by the spouses and viewed by the Family Judge, the wife shall keep the true copy of the marriage certificate while a copy is submitted to the husband.

With regard to the Moroccan Community Abroad, They shall choose whether to contract marriage at consulates, or at the Civil Status Office in their country of residence, after they provide the required documents.

If the fiancés choose to contract marriage at the Civil Status Office in their country of residence, such marriage certificate must conform to the provisions of the Family Code. It must be filed and registered with Moroccan authorities. A copy of the civil marriage certificate must be eventually submitted to competent Moroccan consular officials within a time limit of 3 months starting from the date at which marriage was contracted.

Note that two Muslim witnesses must appear accompanied with their identification in case their presence was not mentioned in the marriage certificate, for the spouses to be able to legalize and file their civil marriage certificate.

In case no consulate is available in the country of residence, the said copy must be submitted, within the same time limit, to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation (Directorate of Consular and Social Affairs).

The ministry submits the said copy to the Civil Status Officer in the spouses' birthplace in Morocco. If both or either spouses have no birthplace in Morocco, it is submitted to the Family Justice Division or to the Royal Prosecutor at the First Instance Court in Rabat.

Having completed all procedures, a certificate is submitted to who it may concern after having filed the marriage certificate at Moroccan consular offices.

News
    No items

• maps.service-public.ma
  • Viste guidée

Site chef du gouvernement

www.mmsp.gov.ma

Je me marie

Félicitations. L'administration vous souhaite beaucoup de bonheur. Quelques documents et conditions sont nécessaires pour rendre cette union légale et durable. Vous trouverez ici toutes les informations utiles pour conclure votre mariage.

La conclusion du mariage est subordonnée aux conditions suivantes :

  • Ne pas s'entendre sur la suppression de la dot (Sadaq) ;
  • Le consentement des deux époux ;
  • La présence du tuteur (Wali) si nécessaire ;
  • L'absence d'empêchements légaux.


En outre, les deux fiancés doivent:

  • avoir 18 ans ;
  • avoir l'autorisation de mariage pour la partie n'ayant pas atteint l'âge légale;
  • avoir la nationalité marocaine (pour au moins l'un des deux même s'il a une autre nationalité).


Après avoir obtenu les pièces nécessaires, les fiancés  se dirigent vers un bureau d'adoul accrédité par la section de la justice de famille. Sur la base des pièces délivrées par les fiancés, l'adoul remplit un formulaire spécial de demande d'autorisation de mariage et le transmet au juge de famille pour l'homologuer.

A l'issue de cette étape, l'adoul est autorisé à contracter le mariage.

Après que l'acte soit signé par les époux et visé par le juge de la famille, l'original de l'acte est remis à l'épouse et une copie à l'époux.

Concernant les MRE, ils ont le choix de contracter leur mariage soit aux consulats ou auprès de l'officier d'état civil du lieu de résidence, et ce, après la présentation des pièces requises.

Si les deux fiancés choisissent de contracter leur acte de mariage auprès de l'officier d'état civil  du lieu de résidence, cet acte doit être conforme aux dispositions du code de la famille, il doit être déclaré et enregistré auprès des autorités marocaines. Finalement, il faut déposer une copie de l'acte de mariage civil chez les services consulaires marocains concernés, et ce, dans un délai de 3 mois à compter du jour où l'acte à été contracté.

Il est à signaler, qu'il faut présenter deux témoins musulmans accompagnés de leur pièces d'identité, si l'acte de mariage ne comporte aucune mention indiquant la présence des deux témoins, et ce, pour permettre aux époux de régler et d'enregistrer leur acte de mariage civil.

En cas d'absence de services consulaires dans le lieu de résidence, il faut envoyer la copie citée dans le même délai au Ministère des affaires étrangères et de la Coopération (Direction des Affaires Consulaires et Sociales).

Les services de ce ministère envoient la dite copie à l'officier d'état civil du lieu de naissance des époux au Maroc. Si les époux, ou l'un des deux, n'ont pas un lieu de naissance au Maroc, elle est envoyée à la section de la justice de famille et au procureur de Roi du tribunal de première instance de Rabat.

Après avoir terminé toutes les démarches, une attestation est remise à l'intéressé après enregistrement de l'acte civil auprès des services consulaires marocains.