• maps.service-public.ma
  • Viste guidée

Head of Government web site

www.mmsp.gov.ma

I ‘am expecting a baby

In the name of the administration, congratulations to future parents. A family book is necessary to register your newborn within the legal time limit (30 days for resident Moroccans and one year for the Moroccan Community Abroad).

Persons concerned with the registration who fail to notify birth during such time limit must pay a fine and get a judgment given by the Court of First Instance in the birthplace.

The choice of first names is governed by some rules. First names must sound Moroccan. Family names, compound names composed of more than two names, and names of cities, villages, and tribes are not valid first names. They shall not prejudice ethics and public order. First names must not have titles such as "Moulay", "Sidi", or "Lalla"

Having chosen a first name for your newborn and having collected the necessary documents, you must move to the Civil Status Office in the birthplace or to the Consulate Office for the Moroccan Community Abroad to register your newborn in Civil Status Records.

Persons why are legally qualified to register the newborn are the relatives in the order that follows:

  • Father or mother;
  • Testamentary guardian;
  • Brother;
  • Nephew.
     

Full brothers shall have priority over half-brothers on father's side which shall have priority over half-brothers on mother's side. Likewise, the oldest has priority over the youngest as long as this latter has the capacity to notify of birth.

The duty of birth notification is transferred according to the said order to the following person if the preceding one is kept from notification due to a given impediment.

Moroccan citizens who are born during sea or air journeys shall either be notified to the Civil Status Officer in the nearest Moroccan seaport or airport, to the Moroccan Consul, to the diplomatic agent of the place of destination, or to the Civil Status Officer in the place of residence in Morocco, within a time limit of 30 days starting from the date of arrival.

Note that any extramarital birth shall result in submitting an application to the president of the Court of First Instance (Family Justice Division) to render a judgment confirming marriage, which shall be signed by either or both of the parties concerned.

Newborns whose parents are unknown shall be notified by minutes carried out by local authorities or by persons concerned, while providing a medical certificate stating the approximate age of the newborn. On the other side, the newborn whose father is unknown is registered after providing either a medical certificate, a certificate provided by a certified mid-wife, or an administrative certificate submitted by the Local Authority.

Having completed the procedures of registering the newborn in the family book, the person concerned shall get a copy of the birth certificate to notify to Contingency Funds such as the National Fund for Social Contingency Organizations (CNOPS), and Social Insurance National Fund (CNSS) to benefit from Family Care Allowances fixed at MAD 200 per month.

News
    No items

• maps.service-public.ma
  • Viste guidée

Site chef du gouvernement

www.mmsp.gov.ma

J'attends un enfant

Aux heureux parents, sincères félicitations de la part de l'administration. Un livret de famille est indispensable pour que votre nouveau née soit enregistre dans les délais légaux (30 jours pour les marocains résidant au Maroc et une année pour les MRE).

Hors ce délai, les personnes concernées par la déclaration doivent payer une amende et avoir un jugement judiciaire du tribunal de première instance du lieu de naissance.

 Le choix des prénoms sont subordonnés à certaines règles. Les prénoms doivent présenter un caractère marocain et ne doivent être ni un nom de famille, ni un nom composé de plus de deux prénoms, ni un nom de ville, de village ou de tribu, comme ils ne doivent  être de nature à porter atteinte aux bonnes mœurs ou à l'ordre public.Ils ne doivent comporter aucun titre honorifique tel que «moulay » « sidi » ou « lalla ».

 Après avoir choisi le prénom de votre nouveau-né et rassemblé les pièces nécessaires, vous devez vous adressez au bureau de l'officier de l'état civil du lieu de naissance ou au service consulaire pour les marocains résidant à l'étranger, en vue d'enregistrer votre nouveau-né dans les registres d'état civil.

 Les personnes habilités à déclarer le nouveau né sont les proches parents dans l'ordre suivant :  

  • Le père ou la mère ;
  • Le tuteur testamentaire ;
  • Le frère ;
  • Le neveu.

Le frère germain a priorité sur le frère consanguin et celui-ci sur le frère utérin. De même, le plus âgé a priorité sur le plus jeune, tant que ce dernier est en capacité pour déclarer.

L'obligation de déclaration passe d'une des personnes visées à l'alinéa ci-dessus à celle qui la suit dans l'ordre, lorsqu'elle en sera empêchée pour une quelconque raison.

Lorsque la naissance d'un ressortissant marocain a eu lieu au cours d'un voyage par voie maritime ou aérienne, la déclaration de naissance doit être faite auprès de l'officier de l'état civil marocain du lieu du premier port ou aéroport marocain, auprès du consul marocain ou de l'agent diplomatique du lieu de destination ou auprès de l'officier de l'état civil du lieu de résidence au Maroc, et ce dans un délai de 30 jours à compter de la date d'arrivée.

Il convient de mentionner que  toute naissance arrivée en dehors de la relation conjugale, impose la présentation d'une demande au président du tribunal de première instance (section de justice de famille), en vue d'obtenir un jugement confirmant la relation conjugale, signé de la part des concernés ou par l'un des deux.

Concernant le nouveau-né dont les parents sont inconnus, la déclaration est faite par un procès-verbal fait par les autorités locales ou par tout concerné, et ce avec la présentation d'un certificat médical précisant approximativement  l'âge du nouveau-né. D'un autre côté, le nouveau-né dont le père est inconnu est enregistré par la présentation d'un certificat médical ou d'un certificat d'une sage femme exerçant légalement ou d'une attestation administrative délivrée par l'autorité locale.

Après avoir terminé les procédures d'enregistrement du nouveau-né dans le livret de famille, le concerné peut obtenir une copie d'acte de naissance du nouveau-né, et ce pour le déclarer auprès des caisses de prévoyance sociale, telle que la caisse nationale des organismes de prévoyance social (CNOPS) et la caisse nationale de sécurité sociale (CNSS).., pour qu'il puisse bénéficier des indemnités familiales et qui sont fixées à 200 DH mensuellement.