• maps.service-public.ma
  • Viste guidée

Head of Government web site

www.mmsp.gov.ma

I lost a family member

In the name of the Moroccan administration, we share your sorrow and express our deepest condolences. At such a sad time, we would like to inform you that you must make a death notification. .

Death shall be notified by the relatives of the deceased in the order that follows:

  • Son;
  • Spouse;
  • Father, mother, testamentary guardian, or the dative tutor of the deceased during their lifetime;
  • Guardian for the person under guardianship (kafala);
  • Brother;
  • Grand-father;
  • Local authority in case all the said persons failed to notify.
     

Death notification is registered on the basis of the documents submitted to the Civil Status Officer, within a time limit of 30 days for Moroccans deceased in Morocco and one year for Moroccans deceased abroad, starting from the date of decease.

Death shall either be notified to the Civil Status Officer at the place where it occurred, to the Moroccan consulate, or to the embassy if the person is deceased aboard.
Persons deceased during sea or air journeys, shall either be notified to the Civil Status Officer in the nearest Moroccan seaport or airport, to the Moroccan Consul, to the diplomatic agent of the place of destination, or to the Civil Status Officer in the most recent place of residence of the deceased in Morocco, within a time limit of 30 days starting from the date of arrival.

If death is not notified within the allowable time limit, the person in charge of notification shall be penalized by a fine of MAD 300 to MAD 1200. Then, the Moroccan Court of First Instance whose jurisdiction is over the place where death occurred render a judgment. Concerning Moroccans deceased abroad; the competent authority is the First Instance Court of the place of residence of the applicant for death notification in case no competent Court is available. This applies to Moroccans who have a domicile in Morocco, or those who have returned for once to Morocco, but not to immigrants having a permanent residence abroad with no domicile in Morocco.

In regard to Moroccans residing abroad, they must submit an application to the President of the First Instance Court of Rabat as it the competent Court, pay MAD 50 for each application to obtain a declaratory judgment.
If death occurs outside Morocco, the family may bring the deceased home by means of contacting competent services either of the commune, municipality, or province, and providing necessary documents.

After having completed the procedures related to death notification, funeral could be started after providing the burial authorization, which is submitted by the Community Health Protection Office, or by the competent social service; and submitting necessary documents.

After submitting the necessary documents, the heirs of the deceased are entitled to be provided with a short or a full copy of the death certificate by the Civil Status Office of the place of death. The said certificate shall be needed for administrative purposes in public institutions.
 

News
    No items

• maps.service-public.ma
  • Viste guidée

Site chef du gouvernement

www.mmsp.gov.ma

J'ai un décès dans la famille

L'administration marocaine partage votre douleur et vous prie de recevoir ses sincères condoléances. A cette triste occasion nous vous informons qu'une déclaration de décès est obligatoire.

Elle est présentée par les proches du décédé dans l'ordre suivant :

  • Le fils ;
  • Le conjoint ;
  • Le père, la mère, le tuteur testamentaire ou le tuteur datif du décédé de son vivant ;
  • Le préposé à la Kafala pour la personne objet de la Kafala ;
  • Le frère ;
  • Le grand-père ;
  • L'autorité locale à défaut de toutes les personnes précitées.


La déclaration du décès est enregistrée  sur la base des pièces délivrées à l'officier de l'état civil, et ce, dans un délai de 30 jours pour les marocains décédés au Maroc, et une année pour les marocains décédés en dehors du Royaume à compter de la date du décès.

Le décès est déclaré auprès de l'officier de l'état civil du lieu où il survient ou du consulat marocain ou de  l'ambassade s'il survient à l'étranger.

Si le décès arrive  au cours d'un voyage par voie maritime ou aérienne, le décès doit être déclaré auprès de l'officier de l'état civil marocain du lieu du premier port ou aéroport marocain d'arrivée, du consul ou de l'agent diplomatique marocain du lieu de destination ou auprès de l'officier de l'état civil du lieu du dernier domicile du décédé au Maroc, et ce,  dans un délai de 30 jours à compter de la date d'arrivée.

Si la déclaration du décès est présentée hors du délai légal, le concerné sera puni par une amende allant de 300 DH jusqu'au 1200 DH, et ce, avant d'obtenir un jugement du tribunal de première instance du lieu de décès pour les marocains décédés au Maroc. S'agissant des marocains décédés en dehors du Maroc, l'autorité spécialisée est le tribunal de première instance du lieu de résidence du demandeur d'enregistrement du décès en   l'absence d'un tribunal spécialisé. Ce dernier cas ne s'applique pas aux émigrés marocains ayant une résidence permanente à l'étranger et qui n'ont pas une résidence au Maroc, mais seulement à ceux qui ont une résidence principale au Maroc ou à ceux qui sont de retour définitif au Maroc.

Pour les marocains résidant à l'étranger, ils doivent présenter leurs demandes au président du tribunal de première instance de Rabat puisqu'il est le tribunal spécialisé, avec le paiement de 50 DH pour chaque demande d'obtention d'un jugement déclaratif.

Si le décès survient en dehors du Maroc, la famille du décédé peut rapatrier le défunt, et ce, en s'adressant aux services spécialisés de la commune ou de la municipalité ou de  la province en délivrant les pièces requises.

Après les étapes relatives à la déclaration du décès, les funérailles peuvent commencer, après avoir présenté l'autorisation d'enterrement  obtenue auprès du bureau collectif de la protection sanitaire ou le service social spécialisé et délivrer les pièces requises.

Les héritiers du décédé peuvent obtenir une copie brève ou détaillée  de l'acte du décès auprès du bureau d'état civil dont relève le lieu du décès, et ce, après avoir délivré les pièces requises, en vue de la présenter auprès des différentes administrations et instituts publics à des fins administratives.